Diptyque L’eau du Trente-Quatre

I was so excited when I heard about L’eau du Trente-Quatre. I was itching for something new from Diptyque and the description sounded right up my alley.

L'eau du Trente Quatre
Source: diptyqueparis.com

L’eau Du Trente-Quatre is a lively interpretation of the original 34 during the time when the weather changes and the greenest notes take over from the warmer and more sensual notes of 34 boulevard saint germain.

The top notes include a flight of bitter orange, verbena, lemon, grapefruit, and lavender, spiced up with a dash of nutmeg, juniper berries and cinnamon tree leaves. A green note of birch tree leaf, from Philosykos adds a lively freshness to the fragrance. The heart is structured around Egyptian geranium, voluptuous tuberose on a base of Virginian cedarwood, patchouli, a splash of incense and Spanish cist. Lastly, bright musks balance the fragrance with just the right amount of mellowness and sensuality.

I got a text about RSVP-ing for the launch of the Pavilion store and the perfume and was so bummed I had to work otherwise it would’ve been fun. The same weekend, I went to Isetan KLCC but they didn’t have the tester for this yet so I was a happy camper when I was given a sample (from Ken’s apothecary).

I was worried this would be too similar to the original but they are both quite different. The original is warm and sensual, I find it skews more towards the masculine side. This one is green, bright and more feminine. On me the blackcurrant really stands out and for one second I thought ‘L’ombre?!’.

It stays on my skin for at least 6 hours which is actually pretty good for Eau de Toilette but then again all 3 bottles of Diptyques that I own do pretty well on the longevity side.

On a side note if you ever head to Paris, you have to spend time in St-Germain. I’ve had several friends asking me where to stay and I would recommend St-Germain over Le Marais (where I stayed).

Price: RM369 50ml / RM469 100ml. Diptyque can be found in Isetan KLCC, BV2, Pavilion and Empire.

Leave a Reply

